Inventors Inducted to the National Inventors Hall of Fame

Do you play with XBox, PlayStation or Wii? Have you ever thought about who made it all possible? The man’s name is Ralph Baer. Baer invented the Magnavox Odyssey Home Video Game System back in 1972. He was inducted into the Hall of Fame this year (2010).

Two others inducted this year were the inventors of Post-it Notes, Spencer Silver and Art Fry. Spencer Silver discovered the adhesive, and Art Fry experimented with it, resulting in the creation of Post-it notes. Post-it notes are still among the most popular office products.

Sixteen inventors were inducted altogether this year, consisting of six living inventors and 10  who were inducted posthumously. To be inducted into the Hall of Fame, the inventor must hold a US patent, and the invention must have proven beneficial to human beings and must have resulted in the promotion and progress of science and/or arts. So far, 421 inventors have been inducted into the Hall of Fame, including those inducted this year. Each year, a National Selection Committee comprised of national science and technical societies reviews the nominees.

The National Inventors Hall of Fame, Inc. is a not-for-profit organization founded in 1973 by the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office and the National Council of Intellectual Property Law Associations. They state that they are dedicated to recognizing and honoring invention and creativity.  The Hall of Fame honors the men and women who have been instrumental in making human, social and economic progress by means of important technological breakthroughs. The National Inventors Hall of Fame museum is featured at its headquarters at Alexandria, VA.

The full list of 2010 inductees to the Hall of Fame are given below:

  • Ralph Baer (Home Video Game System)
  • Yvonne Brill (Electrothermal Hydrazine Thruster)
  • Roger Easton (TIMATION Satellite Navigation System)
  • Art Fry, Spencer Silver (Post-it® Notes)
  • S. Donald Stookey (Glass Ceramics)
  • M. Judah Folkman (Angiogenesis Inhibition)
  • Jacques-Yves Cousteau and Emile Gagnan (Aqualung Diving Equipment)
  • W. Lincoln Hawkins, Vincent Lanza and Field Winslow (Polymer Cable Sheath)
  • Francis Bundy, H. Tracy Hall, Herbert Strong and Robert Wentorf, Jr (Synthetic Diamond)